MEMBERS OF THE BOARD



BRETT FRAZIER, District No. 1
DAVID ROGERS, District No. 2
ROBERT L POYTHRESS, District No. 3
MAX RODRIGUEZ, District No. 4
TOM WHEELER, District No. 5

RHONDA CARGILL, Chief Clerk of the Board

October 15, 2019

Board of Directors
California High-Speed Rail Authority
770 L Street, Suite 620
Sacramento CA 95814
Via Email to: boardmembers@hsr.ca.gov

Subject: Support for Continued Investment in San Joaquin Valley

Dear California High-Speed Rail Authority Directors;

The County of Madera is a member of WYE Madera County which is a collaborative of agencies in Madera County with common interests pertaining to the California High-Speed Rail. WYE Madera County members are:

- County of Madera
- City of Chowchilla
- · City of Madera
- Madera County Transportation Commission
- Madera Unified School District
- Workforce Development Board of Madera County
- Madera County Economic Development Commission

The County of Madera in partnership with other WYE Madera County member agencies, is interested in ensuring that California's investment in high-speed rail achieves the intended state-wide transportation system benefits while providing local benefits and avoiding disproportionate effects on the citizens of Madera County.

High-speed rail construction is well underway in Madera County and the San Joaquin Valley. Completion of the Merced-Fresno-Bakersfield segment is critical to ensure that the constructed facilities result in a functional rail system with state-wide and regional transportation benefits. We are committed to ensuring the infrastructure investment that has been made to date for California High Speed Rail in the San Joaquin Valley is completed.



October 15, 2019 Board of Directors California High Speed Rail Authority Page Two

Therefore, we urge the Authority to strongly oppose any legislation or pressure to divert or eliminate funding identified for facilities planned and under construction in the San Joaquin Valley.

Sincerely,

Brett Frazier Chairman

A ... The Control of the Control of

cc via electronic mail to:

Brian Kelly, CHSRA CEO: brian.kelly@hsr.ca.gov Brian Annis, CHSRA CFO: brian.annis@hsr.ca.gov Chad Edison, CalSTA: chad.edison@calsta.ca.gov